14 comments on “[UPDATED] How to properly configure DXTory (h264/MP3 Lame codec)

  1. Any suggestions if x264 is not showing up in the video codec list?

    i have tried reinstalling dxtory and reinstalling both x264 and Lame encoder

    • Try to perform clean install. Uninstall x264 video encoder, and DXTory fully (files, registry) you may use Revo Uninstaller or similar (may be in trial version), then install again with an Admin privileges. You may also try to temporary add setups of both x264 video encoder, and DXTory to your AV white-list for the time of install (later just remove them from it).

      • I have a similar problem. I installed both DXTory, x264 and Lame as an Administrator, but the x264 codec still won’t show in the codec list.

  2. I blog frequently and I genuinely thank you for your content.
    This great article has truly peaked my interest.
    I will take a note of your site and keep checking for new details about once a week.

    I subscribed to your Feed too.

  3. I’m having trouble with my config.
    I have two different audio streams setup, one for speakers and one for the microphone.
    Both are set to use LAME MP3
    The speakers pick up perfectly fine. They are set at 128kbps Stereo
    Nothing is being picked up on the microphone though.
    It is set at 64kbps Mono (using the push-to-talk hotkey)
    I’ve set it to use the 128kbps Stereo/Mono, PCM 11025 Hz 8bit Mono, then moved both of them to PCM 44100 Hz 16bit Stereo. I have also tried unchecking the hotkey function. No luck.
    Finally, restarted Dxtory and tried all audio settings again.
    The microphone checks out fine in Audacity, so I know it’s not a case with that.
    Switched to the Dxtory codec and the microphone stream works fine

  4. Hey great guide unfortunately i cannot get any play back in any media player and does not show in sony vegas 12 or camtasia. Can you help?

    • Lately I’ve noticed playback/edit issues as well, I didn’t had a time to look closer and find the trigger, but I’ve found a fast way around:

      Upload your recorded vid you your YouTube account (set it ‘private’), then download if from there by using any of many Firefox plugins for that (I’m using Flash Video Downloader).
      Then you may work on it in any editor or play in any player.
      only one thing – the quality will drop to around 2-3 kbps :(

  5. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good.
    I don’t know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already ;) Cheers!

  6. If you are posting on additional online sites, I’d like to keep up with you. Would you list of every one of all your public pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

Add Comment (EN) / Dodaj komentarz (PL)